Windows 8 – new veneer over the old 95 interface

(Funny how any time I want to post something which requires work, such as capturing images, that stops all my posting. I guess it’s better if I just stick to short text messages.)

It amazes me that in this day and age Windows still has dialogues which go back over 15 years. I tried the Windows 8 preview a while ago (when it came out), and was surprised to see that it still has small non-resizeable dialogue boxes, such as for internet options. The device manager also goes back many many years.

When I beta tested Windows 7 I filed a bug about this, but I guess Microsoft just doesn’t care that behind the UI-du-jour there’s stuff which hasn’t been changed since the invention of fire. This bugs me, because it just feels unprofessional.

Leave a Reply

